Book Review – God is a Gamer by Ravi Subramanian

This is a review written under Blogadda’s Book review Program

Book: God is a Gamer

Author: Ravi Subramanian

Genre: Thriller

Rating: 3.5/5

download

God is a Gamer is a gripping, high speed suspense drama. I will say a good effort!

It surely is a page turner. At one point it actually seemed like flipping a daily newspaper with world event headlines. The novel is set across continents from India to USA and involves many scams money laundering, banks, politics, terrorism, government promotions and to top it all personal revenge.

What I liked

Total masala novel

It is a fast paced read. You can’t put the book down once you have started. You feel like flipping the page. The book is quite like a thriller movie, only Bollywood in nature, where first half is good and builds your expectations very high while the second half falls a bit short. I did enjoy the book. It was a light read for me. The story is written quite lucidly and has all the elements or as we say in Bollywood – full on masala book!

Adds value to your knowledge

I loved the angle of bitcoins. Frankly, I had never heard of this concept earlier and found it too interesting. So the book did add value to my knowledge.

Believable characters

Characters and situations are quite believable. You can easily relate to Malavika(the lady who gets through with social contacts), Aditya (the wise businessman), Varun (the dynamic and budding entrepreneur). The charactization is just appropriate, not too deep nor too shallow,; just enough to take the story ahead.

Eye Catchy book cover

I totally loved the book cover. It has shades of grey and gold. Yes, I judge a book by its cover and it completely excels in that, 10/10 from me. The cover is catchy.

What I didn’t like

Lack for proper justification for events

The author seemed to be in great hurry and a bit lacking in research. The end was too abrupt. I mean the complete story is based on a forlorn lover taking revenge on behalf of his girlfriend. Why couldn’t the girlfriend take her own revenge? If it is me who is affected then I should be the one taking the revenge and not my boyfriend. I would have found the story more justified that way.

Also some stories don’t match up in the end. Some parts sounded too farfetched to be true.

I guess the author had no options with so many open cans.

I would surely mention how contemporary foreign authors write a suspense story. I mean look at their level of research. You got the hint, didn’t you?

Location name as chapter titles

I almost got irritated when every chapter title was the name of a location – Goa, Washington DC, Washington DC/Mumbai – sorry but boring for me and also felt that you assumed your reader is a bit slow in comprehension (or you wanted to show off that how your novel is set on such a wide canvas). I mean Mr. Subramanian I would have loved to see a bit of creativity there. You could have weaved the story in such a fashion that we know of the location while the heading could have been kept creative, or even no heading would have been better in this case.

The Final Word

Go for it if you love suspense and thrillers. It is an easy read. No tough words or high vocabulary required. The flow is maintained and suspense keeps on building till the end.

2 thoughts on “Book Review – God is a Gamer by Ravi Subramanian

Have something to say?

